The finished article

Yesterday was a good day and we finally got the kitchen finished! I actually thought we had it in the bag last weekend, but the electrician came in the week and put a load of holes in the ceiling. Whilst he did fill them in, neatness was not his forte (to say the least). So I had the pleasant task of sanding them back and refilling them. Sanding’s a doddle to me – I stripped and sanded all the doors, some floors and the bannister in our last house. But sanding on the ceiling (isn’t that a Lionel Ritchie record?) is a completely different thing. The dust comes straight down but you need to look up to see what you are doing, so it ends up in your eyes, your nose and your throat. I thought I was going to have an asthma attack!

"Just a wee bit of sanding"

The dust settled on my hair and John said it made the peroxide uber-blonde, a bit like Debbie Harry. This pleased me greatly 🙂

Anyway, here it is! My lovely, shiny, new and fabulous kitchen! It’s been a month of hard graft, but it’s definietly been worth it:

My lovely kitchen

My lovely kicthen

And, that well-known essential item of kitchen furniture – the sideboard. On top of the sideboard is John’s vintage Bang and Olufsen Beomaster 900. It’s the first radio he ever bought around 5 years ago and has been obsessed with B&O ever since. He now has six radios, two steroes, one TV, various merchandise and another radio on the way! Lucky me. But as my mum said, he could spend it all on alcohol and womanising so I should think myself lucky.

Kitchen Sideboard

Because we did the work ourselves, we saved enough money for these. I ❤ ❤ ❤ the Smeggy so much! The canvas is a vintage advertising poster from my hometown that I had put onto a canvas. I love the way it makes it look like a desirable place for a family holiday, when the truth is soooo different.

Smeggy

We also had time for a bit of light retail therapy yesterday. I love charity shops so much, as you can’t go with a predefined list and end up with the most random and unexpected things. Yesterday we found this haul of vintage bottles from a tenner! The little brown ones are Bovril jars, so these will live in the kitchen. The rest are a mixture of local beers, minerals, poisons (!) and medicines (including magnesia and lung tonic!). They’re going to be spread across my landing, main bathroom and en-suite bathroom (two bogs – yes I’m posh).

Vintage bottle haul from charity shop

Going to spend the afternoon in the park and enjoy a day of taking it easy. The bathrooms are being fitted all next week, so I’ll be back on the DIY merry-go-round in the blink of an eye.

15 responses to “The finished article

  1. Oh. My. God. It’s FABULOUS! Wow. Can you come and finish mine please?? x

  2. ARE YOU KIDDING ME!?!?! That is an amazing kitchen. Especially since you did it yourselves. You rock!

  3. That is one fabulous kitchen!! I am completely stunned. It looks like a show room kitchen. Love the stove and the hood!!!

  4. OMMMMMGGGGG!!!!! That is one of the nicest kitchens I’ve EVER SEEN! I’m so envious!

    I love the dualit! and I wish I’d got our kitchenaid in a different colour- ours is bright blue.

  5. Thanks so much for the lovely comments! They made me very happy and less weary after all that work 😉

    Gail – I am sure that your new place will look fab! Just a shame you have to rely on London tradespeople with their infinite waiting lists.

    Alice – Thanks so much! My practical skills are well suited to DIY and I can tile a kitchen much quicker that I can knit a scarf. I think I was born with a roller and trowel in each hand!

    Oiyi- You make me *blush* 🙂 Yeah, the cooker is cool and it makes cooking that bit nicer, especially at Christmas as everything fits in it in one go 🙂

    Nin – That’s so great to hear, thank you 🙂 The Dualit scales are fab as they stop me overeating PASTA, mmmmmm! Your bright blue Kitchenaid sounds cool, and part of me always wished I’d got a bright red one. But £100 saving swung it for me. Thank God Allders went bankrupt, as I’d never have got one 😉

  6. Your kitchen looks like a magazine spread, beautiful. So clean and modern and classic. I love those old green bottles, I collect bottles too.

  7. Thanks Junebug – we’re really pleased with it. Just have to keep it looking that way now…

  8. Pingback: Plumbing Pandemonium « Flissy666!

  9. Love the kitchen!! Wherever did you get that fantastic flip clock? It’s just the thing I’m looking for, as I plan the redo of my own kitchen.

    I hope the leaking kitchen ceiling will turn out to be much less trouble than it sounds!
    A

  10. Thanks Annabelle! The kitchen ceiling is healing nicely and I just need some of that barrier spray to stop the damp mark showing when it’s repainted. The plumber has said that he’ll sort it all out, but tbh I’d rather do it myself (if you want a job doing properly and all that…). The clock is wicked – we wanted it for ages, but it’s actually huge and wouldn’t have fitted in our last house. It’s from Habitat. They do have shops worldwide, but I’m not sure if they deliver. It’s http://www.habitat.net

  11. Paint the ceiling? Definitely do it yourself. LOVE the habitat store (and just about everything in it) but curse the fact you showed me… no stores in the US. Your kitchen pics are now in my “dream home” notebook. You should be proud.

  12. … OOoooo – I just found the clock on ebay, and Christmas is coming up…

  13. That’s cool Anne – I am really glad that you found the clock. It is weighty, so if shipping seems a little high, don’t be alarmed 🙂 You should defo get it, though – it’s really cool!

  14. Pingback: Doin’ it for Charideee! « Flissy666!

Leave a comment